Podcasts are cool. (Part 1)

You might listen to podcasts. You might not.  If you do, I hope these recommendations are helpful. If you don’t, my self-appointed mission is to convince you to try them.

(In case you have NO idea what I’m talking about, it’s the purple app on iPhones- the one you might have never noticed.)

According to Google, podcasts are an “audio digital file.” It’s something you listen to. They’re about all KINDS of topics, kind of like Youtube. PLUS, you can download them, which lets you listen without data. SCORE!

On the day this post is unleashed into the world, December 25th is 187 days away. So to get into the Christmas spirit, I am doing a series on awesome podcasts I’ve discovered. This is category one: podcasts of random but FASCINATING stories.

EVERY LITTLE THING

medium_every-little-thing-1497015328

Description: “Turn over the rock, peek through the keyhole, go down the rabbit hole. There’s always more to it.”

This podcast covers topics you would NEVER think about. Well, at least for me. They’re SO WEIRD. For example, in “What the Government Stashes,” they prove how America’s government is a bit of a hoarder. Also, “The Quest to Wipe Out a Virus” revealed to me how weasles can be terrifying and evil.

Episode recommendation: The Hide Rug of the Planet World

99% INVISIBLE

99pi.svg

Description: “Design is everywhere in our lives, perhaps most importantly in places where we’ve just stopped noticing.”

Roman Mars is the host. He has a super smooth voice and and an AWESOME NAME! Every week, a new episode comes out. They’re supposedly all about “design,” but sorry Mr. Mars (his name is SO COOL), but I think 99% Invisible’s stories are more historical. But, a podcast centered around design probably interests more people than one about history. Also, 99% Invisible has a website where they post extra stories. I don’t read them, but I wanted to let you know.

Episode Recommendation: The Yin and Yang of Basketball

PLANET MONEY

NPR_Planet_Money_cover_art

Description: “The economy, explained, with stories and surprises. Imagine you could call up a friend and say, ‘Meet me at the bar and tell me what’s going on with the economy.’ Now imagine that’s actually a fun evening. That’s what we’re going for at Planet Money. People seem to like it.”

I agree, a podcast about the economy sounds so boring, but I LOVE it. So does my sister, and she’s a fashion designer. Seriously, it’s amazing. They made an episode on SPREADSHEETS, and it was interesting. Wait, WHAT? And a thought on their logo: The spaceship ride must have been tough because the first president lost a finger on each hand.

Episode recommendation: The Tough, The Sweet, The Nosy

FREAKONOMICS RADIO

icon_452538045-bf796be27ea4471363c2634b8c51672eeb8cb2aa-s300-c85

Description: “Each week, hear surprising conversations that explore the riddles of everyday life and the weird wrinkles of human nature – from cheating and crime to parenting and sports.”

Ha, the “weird wrinkles of human nature.” That’s a great phrase. This podcast caught my eye because I’ve read the book Think Like a Freak by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner. (Which is blurbed by Malcom Gladwell on the front! He says it’s “utterly captivating.) I guess not only do I read the book before watching the movie, I read books before listening to the podcast.

Episode recommendation: Are the Rich Really Less Generous Than the Poor?

THIS AMERICAN LIFE

thisAmericanLife1

Description (Heads up, this is really unhelpful.): “Most weeks, it is the most popular podcast in the country, with around 2.5 million people downloading each episode.”

This American Life covers complex, gritty stories that make me rethink stuff, especially “Tell Me I’m Fat.” Unlike the previous recommendations, this podcast is more serious and less light-hearted, but it’s still great. By the way, the episodes are long. They’re usually over an hour.

Episode recommendation: Fermi’s Paradox  (The first part is good – WHOA, that cockroach alien theory, the second part is okay, and the third part is the BEST EVER. It blew my heart up and away.)

And that’s it for my FIRST POST! WHOHOOOOO! So pumped. I’ll be back again on Saturday.

And this is Annie, signing out.

 

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

